Friday, January 27, 2012
Last Political Cartoon? :)
This cartoon was drawn by Rick Mckee. Clearly, he dislikes Obama and is against his idea of increasing the taxes for the rich as a way to bring in more money for the government. In this cartoon he uses caricatures to represent Obama and then ridicules him by twisting his words into something that makes fun of him. I think it's pretty funny :).
Wednesday, January 25, 2012
Senior Year
I'm going to be honest, my senior year is passing slower than all the past 12 years put together. Right now, I'm in college and I'm ready to move on from high school and I'm not quite sure how I'm going to get through the next two quarters -_-. That being said, I can't wait until next year :). I'm going down to visit South Florida next week and on June 14th at 2:00 I'll officially be moving on. :D
Sunday, January 8, 2012
Watch your back o.o
This comic was drawn by Gary Varvel. It shows Mitt Romney trying to get to the top of the ladder, which symbolizes the Republican Nomination, and the other candidates trying to cut him down and keep him away from the nomination. This author uses satire and symbols to get his point across. I think that the cartoonist is trying to point out that Romney is clearly the forerunner, but everyone else is trying to keep him from the nomination. Right now, Romney is on the path to the nomination, but as we've seen with, most recently, Gingrich and Santorum, people are constantly sneaking up and getting close to toppling Romney. I don't think the cartoonist believes they will succeed though, as Romney seems very stable on that ladder.
Who's gonna win?
I think that Mitt Romney is going to win because everyone else can't get their acts together. Tell me why there are only two people who are going to be on the ballot for the Virginia primaries. Unless everyone else can get their campaigns together or another person swoops in and takes over I think we're looking at a Romney nomination and another 4 years for Obama.
Wednesday, January 4, 2012
Random Musings
As I'm reading chapter 5, I thought I would just jot down a few thoughts I have on equality and the such :). I really like the fact that the book emphasizes that the American society has developed into one in which equality of opportunity is emphasized rather than equality of results. When I first read that sentence, I couldn't help but to immediately think about welfare and how, if we truly are a society who doesn't believe that everyone should have the same amount of salary or property, it clashes with this idea. After a second though, I took a step back and thought about innocent children not yet given any opportunities who were born into welfare dependent families and I wondered if it would be politically correct for me to believe that welfare should only go to those who are disabled or have children. Then I remembered human nature and I realized that eventually, with welfare only going to families with children, desperate people would start to have children simply to receive welfare which is a truly terrible/depressing idea. Ugh.
Then, of course, I began to think about affirmative action. At it's base level, I believe in the idea of affirmative action and it's attempts to even the playing field, but I have some fundamental issues with how it is done. I think one thing that is important to remember is that affirmative action isn't just showering minority kids with scholarship money and college acceptance which, having heard the side comments made every time affirmative action in brought up, I think some people might actually believe.
(tired. I'll finish later) :)
Then, of course, I began to think about affirmative action. At it's base level, I believe in the idea of affirmative action and it's attempts to even the playing field, but I have some fundamental issues with how it is done. I think one thing that is important to remember is that affirmative action isn't just showering minority kids with scholarship money and college acceptance which, having heard the side comments made every time affirmative action in brought up, I think some people might actually believe.
(tired. I'll finish later) :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

